The Cartoon Network Inc.

The Cartoon Network Inc.

I got to know about an application by Google, called “Google Alerts”, via my course I’m studying at Uni. Google sends you emails about the topic you are interested in. Likewise, I had set up some alerts on the topic of my interest and ‘blog’ about it.

I dont know why, but I put a google alert about Cartoon Network. And the next day I get an email, that CN just turned 20 this month. 20 years old. I was always under the assumption that Cartoon Network was on air since long before I was born. I though it was started in the 50’s and the eccentric thing was I never actually checked or searched about it. Come on! Who would have put the name ‘CN’ on wikipedia and searched about it. The fact is, it was a coincidence that I came across this alert, or else till my grave I’m sure I wouldn’t have thought about finding CN’s origins.

But now as I looked upon a few articles about its 20th anniversary celebration, a feeling of nostalgia struck me, remembering all those cartoons I watched for hours in front of the television in my childhood.

Back in the day, Cartoon Network use to come at specific time only, i.e., it was on from 6am to 9pm. After that or before that some other show use to come, or mainly just commercials. No cartoons. ‘Popeye : The Sailor man’ was the show I use to love and it was the last show i remember. It use to end at 9pm IST and again start early in the morning around 7am. I use to get have my dinner watching that show and sleep so i can get up specially to watch that cartoon again in the morning. I started eating spinach as well mirroring the main character.

The Flintstones was another show I use to religiously watch. There use to be another show Courage something. I always use say it ‘Courage the ‘corroly’ Dog’ I never knew it was called ‘Courage the Cowardly Dog’. Ed Edd and Eddie was another show I remember watching. Dexter’s Laboratory was hilarious. Batman. Who can forget that. There was one other Batman cartoon. ‘Batman of the Future’, I remember. And I must admit, I used to watch ‘The Powerpuff Girls’ as well. I used to love that show. Mojo Jojo.

Nothing could be more entertaining     

than ‘Tom and Jerry’. For both

children and adults.

‘Samurai Jack’ was an amazing show. I vividly remember what was it about. But i know i use to watch it like crazy but all that is now a faint memory.

Johnny Bravo, the flirt was a good watch.

     

Later CN introduced us to the ‘Pokemon’ world. It was like an addiction to every child I knew. Then followed by Beyblade. Damn. That use to be a good show. ‘Transformers’ cartoon series use to run when I was in sixth grade.

‘Scooby Doo’ (where are you?), I still watch that. Adam’s family. The X-men cartoon series. Kids Next Door. The list is long.

Who would had though a network dedicated to just animated cartoons could had been so successful. 20 years of awesome shows they provided us. Cartoon Network is one of the fond memories of my childhood. For that matter any child of my generation. Going down the memory lane, left me perplexed. Happy and sad at the same time. As one says, ‘Those where the good ol’ days’. And I don’t know if any of it would ever come back. There are new cartoons shown on TV today, but nothing could be as good as the cartoons shown back then. I still have friends with whom I talk about the cartoons we use to watch as kids on the network. Every decade has its own definition.  20’s and 30’s was the depression and war period. 60’s and 70’s had music and science influence on the people of that time. Beatles, Led Zeppelin. The 1st man on moon. I guess for me, 90’s is Cartoon Network and cartoons of the 90’s. Cartoon Network. It always brings the kid out of any of my fellow friends and me, no matter how grown up we are.

5 responses to “The Cartoon Network Inc.

  1. I was very pleased to find this great site. I want to to thank you for ones time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and i also have you bookmarked to look at new information in your blog.

    May I simply just say what a comfort to discover an individual who truly knows what they’re discussing online. You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people should check this out and understand this side of the story. I can’t believe you’re not more popular since you surely have the gift.

    Very nice post. I definitely love this site. Keep it up!

    It’s hard to come by well-informed people in this particular topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality sites online. I most certainly will recommend this blog!

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I do think that you ought to publish more on this issue, it might not be a taboo subject but usually folks don’t talk about these issues. To the next! Cheers!!

    Hello there! I just want to give you a huge thumbs up for your excellent information you have got here on this post. I am returning to your web site for more soon.

    After I originally commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment. There has to be an easy method you are able to remove me from that service? Thanks a lot!

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it does not disappoint me just as much as this particular one. I mean, Yes, it was my choice to read through, nonetheless I actually thought you would have something interesting to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something you can fix if you were not too busy looking for attention.

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually believe that this amazing site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the information!

    You are so cool! I don’t suppose I’ve read anything like this before. So great to discover someone with original thoughts on this issue. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This website is one thing that’s needed on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

    I like reading an article that will make men and women think. Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

    Right here is the perfect website for anybody who would like to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject which has been written about for ages. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

    Aw, this was an extremely nice post. Taking the time and actual effort to create a superb article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I found this in my search for something relating to this.

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I am having troubles with your RSS. I don’t know why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody having identical RSS problems? Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

    An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend who has been conducting a little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me breakfast due to the fact that I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this topic here on your blog.

    After checking out a number of the articles on your website, I honestly appreciate your technique of writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future. Take a look at my web site as well and let me know your opinion.

    This site truly has all of the information I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    There’s definately a great deal to find out about this topic. I like all of the points you’ve made.

    You have made some really good points there. I looked on the net for additional information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this website.

    Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day. It’s always interesting to read through articles from other authors and use something from their web sites.

    I blog frequently and I truly appreciate your information. Your article has truly peaked my interest. I will bookmark your website and keep checking for new information about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

    Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post. Thank you for supplying this info.

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post! It’s the little changes that will make the most significant changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

    Hello there! This article couldn’t be written any better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I will forward this information to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

    Hi there, I do think your website could be having web browser compatibility problems. When I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Apart from that, fantastic website!

    Having read this I believed it was really informative. I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this short article together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after looking at many of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

    I wanted to thank you for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I have you bookmarked to check out new things you post…

    Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to return once again since i have book-marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

    Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this web site.

    I used to be able to find good information from your blog articles.

    Wonderful article! We will be linking to this particularly great post on our site. Keep up the good writing.

    This is a really good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere. Short but very precise info… Appreciate your sharing this one. A must read article!

    I could not refrain from commenting. Exceptionally well written!

    bookmarked!!, I love your site!

    Good post. I will be facing many of these issues as well..

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and also the rest of the website is really good.

    Good site you have got here.. It’s hard to find high-quality writing like yours these days. I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

    This is a topic which is near to my heart… Take care! Where are your contact details though?

    I seriously love your website.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you make this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my own site and would like to learn where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Appreciate it!

    Everyone loves it whenever people get together and share opinions. Great website, stick with it!

    Very good info. Lucky me I came across your site by chance (stumbleupon). I have bookmarked it for later!

    This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!

    Everything is very open with a very clear explanation of the challenges. It was definitely informative. Your site is very helpful. Many thanks for sharing!

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website. I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content from you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own, personal website now 😉

  2. Hey, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Firefox, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, terrific blog!

  3. I actually desired to show this unique blog post, “The Cartoon Network Inc.
    | Roots” together with my personal pals on fb. Ijust planned to disperse ur excellent writing!

    Thanks a lot, Debora

Leave a comment