Backpacking Australia – A Shapeless Existence

I have studied Communications (Media) at RMIT University and during my studies, I had a course called Film/TV, where we studied documentary film making way back in 2014. And goes without saying, we had to make a documentary on a topic of our choice during that course.

(I thought I’d share this one with you as I’m less embarrassed of it now I guess)

MV5BYzgxYjM4ZWItOTc1My00OGNkLTkwZDctYTVlMjE3MDQ4YTc3XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNTU1NjAyMjQ@._V1_UY317_CR20,0,214,317_AL_

I partnered with Tom Hatchman, an actor and fellow student at RMIT who played Biscuit in a critically acclaimed Australian Film called Holding The Man (2015). On getting acquainted with him, we discussed variety of topics that we could film.

I happened to work a restaurant during that time, trying to get some extra cash while studying and also funding different projects I could do. While working there, I happened to meet a lot of people who were backpacking in Australia and needed some work so they can fund their travels further. Interesting group of people. Backpacking culture was mesmerising. Leaving everything and travel the world. Who wouldn’t want to do that right? And many if them have studied, worked for a while and started traveling, some had finished high school and just needed a break from that treacherous 15 years of school. Different people, from different parts of the world, doing different things all here right in front of me. Globalisation has indeed arrived.

Getting to know them was amazing and what an interesting bunch of people. SO..

Hardware Lane - Melbourne

Hardware Lane

While discussing our project with Tom, we happened to find our selves in a restaurant (Tom’s a fitness freak so he needs food, always). While at the restaurant, I happened to get a call from my boss asking me to cover one shift for a fellow co-worker and thats when I happen to tell him I work at the restaurant and it finally struck me.

We have so many people at our disposal from different parts of the world. Australia is big on the backpacking culture and we have stories of their travels from different part of the world. And thus, this project came to being – A Shapeless Existence.

Finally, we scouted around different backpackers hubs and started meeting people, interviewing them and one thing led to another and we had a movie at our hands.

The thing about documentaries is that we can take two approaches. Either get the material researched and plan the film. And the second is just go out there and film and make the film in edits. Both have some good arguments as to which one to go about.

As we had a tight schedule and it was the first time shooting, we decided to go gorilla style of shooting. Just recording, interviewing as much and then watch all the shoots in the edits and make a story line out of it.

So, after a couple weeks of shooting and editing and reediting we finally came up with this product. Mind you it is a student film, kinda rough, made with zero budget. Though we got good reviews from the student body and teachers. Watch out for the guy who misses his mother the most while traveling. Happy Mother’s Day to everyone reading.

Lets see what others thinks of it… Go play ahead!

https://vimeo.com/154154861 

Leave a comment