Split-Personality

Last Sunday afternoon, my friends and I were chilling at our place basking the hot summer day, having pancakes. One of my friend, showed us the X-Factor 2012 audition video of a 13 year old girl(we were just goofing around the internet wasting time). The only thing that attracted at the start was that the video had more than four million views in less than a week. So, we were all like its gonna be a freaking amazing audition or the worst x-factor has ever seen. The video was played. We saw it. And damn! That blew our mind.

She’s so nervous at the start, before the interview, her parents supporting her, to give her best. She comes on stage and when the judges ask her name, its the same nervousness, shyness. She seems non-garrulous and definitely not like a aficionado person. No one would expect anything from a kid, that too of thirteen years. But then she starts singing. From the first words that come out of her throat, she mesmerizes the crowd and the judges, and millions of youtube viewers. The myriad applause she gets of her convivial performance is just way too less and way more at the same time for someone who is just thirteen. She’s a different person when she starts singing. That attitude. That saunter while singing. That hand movements. And above all that magical voice. Damn! You just fall in love with her. And when she finishes her performance, she goes back to the same old shyness and blushing from the judge’s comments. Crowd shouting. Judges standing. Contestants in back-room applauding. Her parents enjoying one of their proudest moment. That is what you call one hell of an audition.

Haha! This video makes me sick of myself as well. On one hand you see this amazing girl singing and living the dream and on the other (well for me), I see my guitar just lying on the floor in the corner of my room, with dust accumulating on it.

But at the end its inspiring. I did pick up my guitar and started practicing. Haha!

I hope the music world has many such geniuses to offer in future. Not judging any other kid singers that have emerged in the recent past but Carly would definitely be at the top in spite of having no songs to her name. Its just a matter of time before everyone gets to hear her songs. She’s good. Period.

Enjoy her audition video. You are surely gonna see it more than once.

Leave a comment